Cork County Council sets out its land use planning strategy for the development of the towns and villages of the county in a series of Municipal District Local Area Plans. Cork County Council has prepared a Draft Local Area Plan for each of the eight Municipal Districts which comprise the County.

The Public Consultation period for submissions has been extended up to 4pm on Monday 16th January 2017.

The Draft Local Area Plan for each Municipal District has been prepared, so that once finalised, they will replace the previous Electoral Area Local Area Plans adopted in 2011 and will incorporate and update where appropriate the land use zoning maps and associated policy objectives of the nine Town Development Plans adopted by the former Town Councils of Cobh, Clonakilty, Fermoy, Kinsale, Macroom, Mallow, Midleton, Skibbereen and Youghal.

In order to make sure we have the best plan, it is important that the people who will be affected by the plan get involved in the making of the plan and have a say in how their area develops.

Therefore the Council is inviting submissions on the Draft Plans and any other matters which the public/stakeholders consider relevant to the future planning strategy for their area. All written submissions received by the closing date will be considered in the making of the new Draft Local Area Plans.  Submissions will be detailed in the Chief Executive’s Report to be submitted to the Elected Members in March 2017.

Make a Submission